Raggedy Dolls

It’s happened again. I’ve got the urge for another crafty project. This time it’s handmade dolls for the kids. I saw a great site yesterday, Angry Chicken, and her stuff is SO COOL. Very original. Totally creative. I particularly liked her Raggedy Doll, which is the impetus for my new project ideas. She’s added to my list of idols. It’s so interesting to see what everyone else is doing. I wish I knew how to sew. I think I may have to take a class. Otherwise I’ll just end up wasting lots of great fabric and thread only to watch it fall apart in the end. Kinda like my first attempt at a granny square poncho for Alex. It looked fabulous when I finished it. It started unravelling on the first wear. Now it looks like I knotted it rather than crochet.  Oh well. It certainly wouldn’t be mistaken for anything other than handmade. I did figure out how to knot and weave the ends by the time I made Betty’s. I think I’ll try another one. AFTER the dolls, and the poncho, and the quilt….

It’s the story of my life. I love to start things, but finishing has always been a bit of a problem. At least it’ll keep me going for a few weeks. I did manage to finish a couple of books this week. Mind you, I’ve been reading them for at least 2 weeks each. I’ve added them to the My Bookshelf bit of the blog. We’re off to the library for more books today. I’ll end up having to buy a library book today. A Thomas the Tank Engine. It was originally a lift-the-flap but has sadly been stripped of its finery by Jackie boy. All the pieces were laying on the floor of his bedroom one night. We don’t let him go to sleep with books anymore.

This blog was supposed to be strictly for the crafty bits. But I started feeling sorry for it. Hopefully this will tempt me to start writing more stuff. Anyway, hope everyone has a great day!

~ by imadethis on October 6, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
