get yer creak on

We have a new addition to our family. I found this in the local YMCA. They took away our glider and foot stool (sad) that I rocked Jackson and Betty in when they were babes. It was supposed to be a nursing chair, but the arm rests were too close and I could never get comfortable. This one is old and comes with an excellent creak. I love the sound of it. Reminds me of North Carolina and growing up for some reason. Sitting rather low, compared to most, the armrests are also quite low making it the perfect chair for knitting, crochet and, yes, even holding my (big) babies.
the creaker
I have the obligatory and expected great plans for this chair. It sits in my kitchen at the minute because the kids can turn this chair over. The glider was more problematic in this area, but this poor chair is as light as a feather in comparison. They picked up on that pretty quickly, I have to say. (Very clever? Or really naughty?) Anyhoo, I’d like to sand it, paint it, distress it and recover the seat and replace the pad. This is going to fit in nicely with all the other irons on the fire.

We stayed in today. British gas were to come and change our gas meter sometime between 8am and 8pm. Aren’t they nice to be so specific? We watched Nanny McPhee and ate popcorn. I burned the first batch trying to be all Slimming World, using FryLight instead of a bit of real sunflower oil. Learned my lesson and repopped a good batch. Poor ole Jackson got scared (again) when he saw NMcPee’s silhoutte at the door. He gets scared so easily. I was worried about Halloween, but he was great. I don’t understand that boy at all sometimes. I mean, this doesn’t scare him at all. But this had him squealing and covering his eyes. What’s up with that? I don’t know.

Guess what? Graeme made dinner tonight while I took a nice long hot bath. What a wonderful husband. He made steak and baked potatoes with sauteed mushrooms and red cabbage. Who knew that when you boil a red cabbage it ends up looking this ? I didn’t. I do now! It tasted GREAT. I was browsing the internet and came across this picture on this cool site. Anyway, it reminded me of this from Natalie Dee. I think she’s SO funny. I’ll leave you with a fitting foto for a friday. I used to love The Cure. OK, I still do. But I’ve since recovered from my crush on Bobby Smith. My hubbie is my only hottie these days! God I sound sad.
Friday I'm in love with Robert Smith

~ by imadethis on November 3, 2006.

2 Responses to “get yer creak on”

  1. i like the theme quite a bit. it’s a nice departure from the clean 2.o white. it’s also nice to shake it up every once in a while. have a happy weekend.

  2. Love your new blog theme. I can read it just fine. Anyway, I totally LOVE the rocking chair. I have one in my house that my uncle made years ago. It is the perfect place to knit.

Leave a Reply

 
