eat some turky for me!


I really miss the states on Thanksgiving. Can you believe I almost forgot? It’s unthinkable. I’m very melancholy. While the town tree was lit up tonight with lots of fanfare, the whole tradition of Thanksgiving was all but lost in my own home. I’m so disappointed that my children will not grow up with this wonderful American tradition. And before anyone thinks I’m being too gushy, I’m totally NOT. My family is no different to anyone else’s. We have a lot of fun and a lot of other stuff too. But we’re family. And I miss having a whole day set aside just for giving thanks for all the wonderful blessings we have in our lives. The turkey, ham, corn pudding, corn bread, devilled eggs, sweet potato casserole, waldorf salad, green bean casserole, ambrosia salad, watergate salad, parker house rolls, pecan pie, pumpkin pie, sweet potato pie, coconut cream pie and apple pie. Pie. Pie. Pie. And pie.

After stuffing ourselves silly, the women tidy up and the men watch the superbowl. The kids, depending on whether or not they ate at the children’s table or the adult’s table, go off and either get into mischief or get other kids into trouble.

Ahhhh. The Good Life. We celebrated tonight with candles at the dining table, which were intermittently blown out by both Alex and Jackson. We had a turkey joint topped with stuffing and a pastry crust. No sweet potatoes at the store, but we did have some croquettes, extra stuffing and AAHHHhh Bisto gravy. Jackson ate nothing but the pastry top. Alex ate a bit of stuffing. Betty ate everything and everybody’s leftovers. All three had a jam doughnut for dessert.

It may not be Norman Rockwell, but it was lovely just the same. God, I love my family.

~ by imadethis on November 23, 2006.

2 Responses to “eat some turky for me!”

  1. There you go you can have Thansgiving where ever you are.

  2. I have been in the US all my life, so I guess the thought of no Thanksgiving never crossed my mind! Seems like you made the most of your day.

Leave a Reply

 
