Cough Cough. Sneeze Sneeze. Oh what a relief it is.

Well. It’s been a while, hasn’t it? The flu and nasty bugs have ravaged our family. 3 weeks ago a terrible bug took hold of all three children consecutively. High fevers, lots of sinus trouble and general yuckiness. It lasted for about 3-5 days. Sometimes they didn’t even want to eat! Then it took hold of me. Now, I don’t want to seem like a baby, but I am a baby when I get sick. I just want to curl up and hibernate until I feel better. I had a high fever for several days topping out at 104.5F. This was accompanied by the shivers, general achiness, sinusitis and last, but not least, an earache that culminated in a burst eardrum. Oh yeah, and a face full of cold sores. I’m not kidding. All over my lips and nose! I still can’t hear properly and the tinnitus and popping is driving me insane. There are a few positive points, however. I don’t have to pretend I can’t hear my husband or children and I can put myself into a deep meditative state by concentrating on the heartbeat constantly pounding inside my ears.

On a lighter note, I took the kids to a birthday party recently and a friend told me that while I may have had the plague (cold sores), gone deaf and look half-dead, at least it’s obvious that I’ve lost a noticeable amount of weight.

Whoo Hoo!

So anyway, while I’m looking after the kids sick as a dog with a face so hot you can fry an egg and a stabbing pain in my right ear as it drains a blood tinged fluid, Graeme catches something that makes him cough, sneeze and get really hot and sweaty. Could it possibly be as bad as mine? NO WAY. He takes off work, as he’s near death at this point, and I continue looking after the kids. That is until Graeme gets out of bed and then I jump in and sweat it out under the duvet. Man. Life is good.

Poor old Jackson went into Hospital on Wednesday to have a rather delicate surgical procedure. He was SO brave. I was very proud of him. He’s so tough. But it’s taking a toll now. I had to keep Alex home from school today because I couldn’t even get a nappy on Jackson to get him dressed and out of the house. And, as expected, he screams BLOODY MURDER and cries real tears every time he has to urinate. I hate it. There’s nothing I can do for him until he’s finished and calmed down. We’ve been doing A LOT of cuddling. I wish I could fix it and make it all better. I hate that he’s in so much pain.

So that’s what’s been happening in my world lately. How about you? What’s been happening?

~ by imadethis on March 2, 2007.

4 Responses to “Cough Cough. Sneeze Sneeze. Oh what a relief it is.”

  1. oh my, you sound so busy!

    jackson is your pet, i take it. did jackson get fixed?

  2. That’s pretty funny, Jen. But no, Jackson is, in fact, my son. And while he didn’t get fixed at a veterinary, he did have an equally distressing procedure at the hospital. He’s doing better everyday, thanks!

  3. Oh man, I hope you guys are better soon!

  4. Wow, what a couple of weeks! I hope that everyone is feeling better soon!

    I get cold sores too. Isn’t it horrible? As if you aren’t feeling bad enough, then your face has to explode. Yuck. Hopefully your’s clear up faster than mine! 😦

Leave a Reply

 
