Alive and Kicking

Howdy everybody! Boy, I’ve been having a lot of fun. I’m only checking in quickly before running out for the day with the kiddliwinks. Jackson is (pretend) bathing a stuffed bunny in Betty’s potty (which is empty, thankfully). Betty is eating the stuffed bunny’s cracker that they have so thoughtfully provided. Alex is making a guitar with some of my yarn, an empty paper towel roll and an empty box of rice. They’re aching to run around and expend energy. Jackson is missing nursery. We’re still on vacation over here.

Dad and Debbie have been over for 5 weeks. They’ve just left and we’re all missing them terribly. This morning I watched Jackson creep downstairs, stopping to have a good look downstairs. I asked him what he was doing and he said he was looking for Grandpa Richard and Grandma Debbie. Betty saw a shirt that she thought was Dad or Debbie’s and said, “Buttons! Buddy!” She calls Dad Buttons, which we originally reckoned may have been short for Butthead but have since surmised it was based on a shirt (s)he was wearing that had a lot of buttons on it. We’ll never know for sure, though. It’s extra sweet because  there’s another Buttons who lives at Wayside. Of course, he’s got a better beard.

And Debbie reckons she says Buddy. See, she a bit dyslexic with her pronunciation at the minute. While she thinks she’s saying Debbie, she really says Beddie. But it ends up sounding more like Body, which I thought she meant! Debbie has a kick butt figure and I think Betty is saying The Body.

In any case, we’re already trying to get them to come back. My sister, Susan, and her youngest daughter, Mary Stuart, are coming over at the end of September. I can’t wait. I’ve been living over here since 2000 and this is the first time she’s been able to get over. I’m desperate to see her and already stressing over the state of the house. The kids destroy just about everything they come in contact with. OK, a bit of an exaggeration, but it feels like they’re tearing the house apart. I hate to think what Susan will think of our home and family. It’s absolute chaos here. She’s got 4 children and a very regimented routine that works. Yikes.

You may notice that there is no cool picture accompanying this post. That’s because Graeme accidentally deleted my original email account. The one that I used to open up my PRO FLICKR account. Now I can’t access that account and will have to find a way to resolve that problem. I’ve opened up a regular account using my new email address. Having already reached my upload limit, I’m forced to wait until FLICKR somehow resolves this for me. I should think it would be quite simple, really. Merge the accounts from their end. But hey, what do I know?

OK, so that’s it for now. Lots more to talk about and share. See you later.

~ by imadethis on June 7, 2007.

2 Responses to “Alive and Kicking”

  1. Sounds like fun! Glad you’re having such a nice spring!

  2. Found your blog and so glad I did! I was so immediately by the tag line : Housework cant kill ya….! I also have 3 wee ones at home and can SO IDENTIFY with your scenarios. Thanks for making me LAUGH OUT LOUD!

Leave a Reply

 
