Red Eye

I forgot to tell the rest of the story the other day. Now, I realise I mentioned the ‘you smell’ problem. But I left out a really funny bit. It’s about 8:20 in the morning and I’m in living room putting Betty’s shoes on to leave for school. That’s when I heard this conversation between Alex and her friend, who we were taking to school.

Alex- You stink.

Friend- No I don’t!

Alex- Yes you do! My Daddy’s a witch and he can put a spell on anyone. And he’s put a spell on you to make you smell bad.

Friend- He’s not a witch!

Alex- Yes he is! All witches have red eyes. See that picture of Daddy?

Friend- Oh. My. God.

Alex- See? I told you so!

Me: ALEX! Your father is NOT a witch (all the time). And FRIEND, do NOT use the Lord’s name in vain!

I thought it best to nip that one in the bud as she and her family are church goers. While we do not attend church, I would like it known that I would be thoroughly upset if my children said that. Oh my God, that reminds me. I should really stop saying that so flippantly!

*By the way, it’s not a personal hygiene issue. She has two BIG dogs who had obviously just given her big wet-dog hugs goodbye. 

~ by imadethis on July 26, 2007.

One Response to “Red Eye”

  1. […] and often smells like a boy’s bathroom. Yuck. Mind, the other child did smell a bit (of wet-dog before school cuddles). But to say it in front of her? No way. So I, in front of them both, reminded Alex that she often […]

Leave a Reply

 
