This is the stuff that makes me cry

I was checking my email this morning and while replying to Kristina, Alex yelled that Jackson had poured salt everywhere. The kids were playing restaurant with pots, pans and big spoons that I had given them. I only had one email to read and it didn’t even take me 5 minutes to read and reply. Yet somehow this happened in that amount of time.

I kicked them all out back and took a picture to show Graeme. This is the second time this week they’ve emptied the Lo-Salt. Last time it was all over the kitchen floor. Anyway, I vacuumed up the salt and tidied up the room. I went outside just in time to see this. Note the skipping rope. I’m not sure what they were trying to do exactly.

After rectifying the situation I went inside to sweep the kitchen of all the bits and pieces left from the bread raid. That’s when I heard a blood curdling scream. I ran out to the trampoline and found Betty crying her eyes out with a bloody nose. Jackson had twisted her nose so hard it started bleeding.

I’m so fed up. I really am. I smacked Jackson’s rear end and sent him to his bedroom explaining that it is NOT acceptable to hurt his sisters. I made him take a good look at Betty’s bloody nose before he went up and reiterated the fact that HE had caused this, hoping that a little shame might create some remorse. (That’s not a fair statement. He was very remorseful.)I know he’s only three, but he’s up there for 20 minutes. And I’ll repeat the process every time he hits, pushes, kicks or otherwise hurts his sisters. I know he’s a good child, but it’s NOT OK.

Anyway, I needed to vent to someone. Thanks. I can’t call Graeme at work with this kinda thing because it just doesn’t help. And it isn’t fair when he can’t do anything to help. Again, thanks.

~ by imadethis on August 24, 2007.

2 Responses to “This is the stuff that makes me cry”

  1. Oh no! I am going to email you…

  2. What is it with children and various powders? 😉 My two-year-old has that fixation as well and has emptied sugar, Splenda and cornbread mix onto the furniture on separate occasions. So you are not alone!

    I found your link at The Mom Blogs. My blog is new so I’m trying to make the rounds. Nice to meet ya!

Leave a Reply

 
