What am I thinkin?

Oh. My. God. I was at a PTA meeting the other night. I agreed to help out with the upcoming (in 2 weeks) Christmas Fair. We were discussing the stalls available. Then I remembered what my friend Hazel had suggested, that I should try and sell some of the stuff I make. So I up and opened my mouth and have agreed to running my own craft stall! AHHHHHHHHH!

Part of me is scared to death of making a complete fool of myself. I mean, I know it’s ‘only crafts’, but it’s still stuff I’ve made and stuff I think is pretty cool. But the other half of me is very very excited at the response. Will they like it? Will the kids want some of this stuff? And then suddenly (in my head) I’m a cottage industry traveling to craft fairs and village shows selling my one of a kind craft goods.

I have to admit that the idea of earning money for the family makes me really happy. And proud. I sure hope this works out. Anything is better than nothing, right?

Anyway, here are some of the things I’ve made. TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK! How much should I charge? Any ideas of making it better?

I’ve used those things to make magnets. I made some like this as well. And I altered this pattern to make a lined purse. I’m going to appliqué and embellish the other purses I make. I’ll be doing one for Alex with a big A on the front and the same for Betty with a b, of course. I’m going to print out the letters (using courier text or schoolbook) and use it as a pattern for the appliqué.

What else? Oh yeah. I’ve made some hair clips as well. Not too sure about these, to be honest. They look a lot better in the hair, that’s for sure.

I have to say that my favorite, so far, are the tooth fairy pillows. Hazel gave one to us and I loved it. I stole the idea and came up with these. This one is my favorite. I love the back, too.

I tried to make some necklaces, but would love to get your opinion on these before making some more. They are easy, but a bit time consuming. I don’t think I’ll be able to charge enough to make it worth my while.

Finally, I’ll be framing these to show as something to make and personalize to order.

Another idea is to make Christmas stockings for the kids and then display them as made to order. I’ll be doing some little Christmas ornaments, thats a given. I also ran up a little quilted linus blanket that I’d like to show as made to order as well. But I’d want them to give me an old piece of clothing to add it to make it more personal. Hearts, trees and stars. And, finally. I’ll be baking. I’ll be whipping up some rocky road fudge, mexican wedding cookies and maybe a sweet potato pie or three.

Anyway, PLEASE COMMENT and let me know what you think, ideas, pricing…

THANK YOU!

~ by imadethis on November 17, 2007.

One Response to “What am I thinkin?”

  1. I think PTA is a great spot to sell your wares. 🙂 The magnets will sell – lots of times folks want to buy stuff but something small is all they can manage.
    As far as your comment “I don’t think I’ll be able to charge enough to make it worth my while.” Then avoid those! You’re busy! Don’t make it harder than it has to be. See what sells first before making more.
    I would also humbly suggest avoiding “made to order” – that is going to keep you even busier. I would keep that idea in your back pocket if someone specifically asks you but I would not advertise. You want to sell what you’ve made, not accrue inventory while having to make more.
    People buy a lot of “practical” things at craft fairs imo so the magnets, tooth pillows, hair clips etc. are a good idea. Not everyone has good imagination so help the people browsing see how good they look. Do you have a doll you could put the hair clips in? Presentation is everything!
    I’m not so good on prices but maybe someone else can offer their opinion there.
    btw – I’m a longtime lurker of your blog. I just love it only quietly. 🙂 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

 
