What Comes Around…

OK, so I’ve been a bit busy. Some might say lazy (you say it like it’s a bad thing!!!!), but I call it extremely preoccupied. I’ve been doing all sorts of things since we last met. Like starting, but not yet finishing, another set of boxes. And my friend Ali and I have been brambling. We managed to pick about 8 lbs between us. Ali had already made 5 jars of jam previously. Me? Never. But you know me. I love the whole homemaking, handmade ethos. So I gave it a go. Remarkably it set and it tastes great. It’s especially surprising since I had no scales and therefore had to guesstimate the sugar. The sugar being the crucial ingredient, I’m very very lucky. Either that or I’m just so cool that it had to turn out right. I’ll let you decide. Just don’t tell me your decision!!!

Anyway, we’ve all agreed that I should strain the jam next time. The bits are ok when it’s raspberries or strawberries, but blackberries are tough as nails. Of course it is possible that I did something wrong. I’m not sure. I need further research on the matter.

What else? Hmm, let’s see. I’m still searching for funding but the search has taken a more productive turn. I’ve been working with an incredibly supportive and friendly chicken from the council. She’s so awesome that on our first meeting I just had to ‘hug her neck’ as my grandma used to say. We’re getting together soon to look at a specific grant. As I’ve never written a grant proposal, I’m finding all of this extremely useful, interesting and helpful.

I’ve also become a School Governor and have been attending several induction and training sessions. Oh, did I mention the CPFA/(PTA) ? I sit on a steering committee and we’ve been meeting regularly to plan the Christmas fete. I’ve been trying to secure donations from local businesses and have also sent out 50 letters to national businesses hoping to get some real goodies.

And the kids have been off sick this week with conjunctivitis. Yick.

And we’re redecorating. Remember that thrifted table? Well, here’s what it looks like now. And I’ve been lucky enough to get a gateleg table that seats 6, 10 on high holidays, from Freecycle. How cool is that? I’ll be painting that one, too. And the kitchen. And wallpapering Jackson’s bedroom, bathroom and the sitting room. Whew. And it all has to be done by the end of November cause Dad’s Coming Over!!! Whoo Hoo!

Oh, and I’m applying for a job that I REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY want. I know I’d be fantastic at this job. It marries my need to nurture children/parents/families with the desire to work within education within a Council role. It’s NOT boring. I’ll be able to effect positive change in MANY ways for MANY people. I hope I at least get short listed. No guarantees. Especially since I haven’t worked in ages. Wish me luck.

Anyway, see the next post for the jam making session.

~ by imadethis on October 23, 2008.

2 Responses to “What Comes Around…”

  1. Good luck!

    I came here after googling crochet flower patterns – thanks so much for sharing yours – and I shall come back. I loved reading some of your Mommy Meltdown moments, looking at the lovely things you’ve made (that wallpaper box is fab!), and looking at your beautiful photos …. your kitchen after your kids had been using it struck such a chord!

    🙂

  2. Not just Dad is coming in December, Debbie is coming, too!

Leave a Reply

 
